Awards and Prizes

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Prize

The research funding programme for top researchers

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize is the most important research award in Germany. The Leibniz Programme, established in 1985, aims to improve the working conditions of outstanding researchers, expand their research opportunities, relieve them of administrative tasks, and help them employ particularly qualified early career researchers. A maximum of €2.5 million is provided per award. Prizewinners are first chosen from a slate of nominations put forward by third parties; the final selection is made by the Joint Committee on the basis of a recommendation from the Leibniz Nominations Committee.

More informationen about Leibniz-Prize


Peter Greil




ERC Starting Grants

ERC Starting Grants are designed to encourage young talented research leader to gain independence in Europe and to build their own careers. The scheme targets promising researchers who have the proven potential of becoming independent research leaders.

More informationen about the Starting Grants


Benoit Merle




Peter Felfer


Jana Zaumseil






ERC Advanced Grants

ERC Advanced Grants are designed to allow outstanding research leaders of any nationality and any age to pursue ground-breaking, high-risk projects in Europe.

The scheme targets researchers who have already established themselves as top independent research leaders.

More informationen about the Advanced Grants


Carolin Körner


Patrik Schmuki






Reinhart Koselleck Projects

Reinhardt Koselleck Projects

This programme enables outstanding researchers with a proven scientific track record to pursue exceptionally innovative, higher-risk projects.

Two FAU professors from the Department of Materials Science are supported within the framework of the Koselleck projects: Patrik Schmuki, Chair of WW4: Surface Science and Corrosion, and Peter Greil, Chair of WW3: Glass and Ceramics.

More information about the Reinhardt Koselleck Projects


Patrik Schmuki


Peter Greil






Alfried Krupp Prize for Young University Lecturers

One million euros for young researcher

Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung (Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Foundation) has been awarding the Alfried Krupp-Förderpreis für junge Hochschullehrer (Alfried Krupp Prize for Young University Lecturers) on an annual basis since 1986. It can be awarded to temporary or permanent university professors (W2 or W3) from natural sciences or engineering disciplines who are under 38 years of age. This prize is awarded along with funding of one million euros for staff and equipment which is distributed over a period of five years.


Jana Zaumseil